Blizzard Reveals New Details on WORLD OF WARCRAFT: SHADOWLANDS and Covenant System


Category: MMO Games

Blizzard Reveals New Details on WORLD OF WARCRAFT: SHADOWLANDS and Covenant System

Considering that the eight major expansion to the world's most popular MMO will hit stores later this year, it shouldn't be surprising that Blizzard is ramping up World of Warcraft: Shadowlands' marketing campaign.

In a recent developer update, the studio revealed some all-new details on the biggest differences between World of Warcraft: Shadowlands and the base game's previous DLC, World of Warcraft: Battle for Azeroth.

First of all, World of Warcraft: Shadowlands will try to re-introduce the old progression system — from the pre-Battle for Azeroth era — with the current max level (120) being crunched down to 50 — up to 60 with the upcoming DLC. According to Blizzard, the decision to get back to the basics will provide players with a sense of pride and accomplishment, allegedly making the whole experience far less chaotic and unfocused.

Furthermore, World of Warcraft: Shadowlands will bring something new to the beloved MMO's endgame. In the brand-new expansion, players will be able to join one of four enemy factions in the titular realm of death. Battling the Covenants' forces will allow players to learn more about the titular land and experience some of the powers that they offer. Be sure to learn more about these ancient Covenants down below:

Kyrian: "The kyrian are steadfast guardians of the afterlife who bear the souls of the dead into the Shadowlands. Eternally devoted to duty and service, only the worthy may enter their ranks."

Necrolords: "Among the necrolords, strength is rewarded and weakness cast aside. The souls of the ambitious and contentious are forged into an immortal army charged with the defense of the Shadowlands."

Night Fae: "The night fae tend to fallen nature spirits who slumber within the tranquil forest. Those with a deep bond to nature may join their cause, ensuring that the rejuvenated spirits can one day rejoin the eternal cycle."

Venthyr: "The venthyr are aristocratic overseers of souls burdened with excessive pride and wickedness. They guide troubled souls upon the rigorous path to atonement, harvesting anima to keep their realm strong."

While we're patiently waiting for new information about the fresh game mechanics and revamped RPG system of World of Warcraft: Shadowlands, check out the aforementioned developer update right now:

Sylvanas Windrunner, fallen leader of the Horde, has pierced the veil between Azeroth and the realm of the dead, setting in motion a series of events that threaten to upset the cosmic balance between life and death. Azeroth’s heroes will confront the wonders and horrors of the afterlife as they deal with the consequences of Sylvanas’ actions.

World of Warcraft: Shadowlands is coming to PC in 2020.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Bartosz Sobczak - Owner, Editor-in-Chief


Lawyer by day, video game reporter by night. Long-time fan of the Mass Effect, Age of Empires, Prince of Persia, BioShock — especially the second one — and Splinter Cell series (who still believes that the best is yet to come). Tries his hardest to shine a new light on the Polish game-development scene. Gameplay Mechanix is his biggest passion project to date. Often listens to old episodes of The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson while writing. Privately a cat person.

Leave a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.
Fields marked with the symbol * are required.


Comments for this thread are now closed...