STAR WARS: SQUADRONS Will Have Eight Starfighters to Choose From at Launch, EA Motive Confirms


Source: Electronic Arts

Category: Star Wars: Squadrons

STAR WARS: SQUADRONS Will Have Eight Starfighters to Choose From at Launch, EA Motive Confirms

Electronic Arts has officially revealed the full list of playable starfighters available on launch day in Star Wars: Squadrons, EA Motive's spiritual successor to 1994's Star Wars: TIE Fighter and 2001's Star Wars: Starfighter.

Although Star Wars: Squadrons will have only eight starfighters to choose from at launch, the good news is that each playable vehicle is different, offering a completely unique gameplay experience. You will have the following machines at your disposal: T-65B X-wing starfighter, BTL-A4 Y-wing assault starfighter/bomber, RZ-1 A-wing interceptor, UT-60D U-wing starfighter/support craft, TIE/ln starfighter ("TIE fighter"), TIE/sa bomber ("TIE bomber"), TIE/in interceptor ("TIE interceptor"), and TIE/rp reaper attack lander ("TIE reaper")

According to the Montreal-based developer, these starfighters will share some basic features to make the game's learning curve a little less steep. "Every ship has primary weapons, countermeasures, a hull outfitting, engines, and two auxiliary abilities (such as missiles or repair droids), though some starfighters also have shields," EA Motive said. "The benefit of this system is that if you know how to pilot one starfighter, you know how to pilot them all as they all share the same basic controls, too."

Furthermore, the award-winning Canadian studio has confirmed that their upcoming flight game will be fully compatible with several VR headsets, including PlayStation VR, Oculus Rift (S), Valve Index, and HTC VIVE.

Considering that Star Wars: Squadrons will make its debut this October — priced at $39,99 — the publisher will definitely share new details on the game's mechanics, online play, and story mode in the coming weeks.

The second Death Star is gone, but starfighter pilots unite on both sides of the Galactic Civil War as it rages on in STAR WARS: Squadrons. Fight alongside your squadron to tip the scales in monumental fleet battles and compete in intense 5 vs. 5 dogfights. Get into the cockpit and triumph as a team by completing tactical objectives across known and never-before-seen battlefields, including the gas giant of Yavin Prime and the shattered moon of Galitan.

Star Wars: Squadrons is coming to PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PC (via Steam, Origin, and the EGS), and VR devices (including PS VR, HTC Vive, Valve Index, and Oculus Rift) on October 2, 2020.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Bartosz Sobczak - Owner, Editor-in-Chief


Lawyer by day, video game reporter by night. Long-time fan of the Mass Effect, Age of Empires, Prince of Persia, BioShock — especially the second one — and Splinter Cell series (who still believes that the best is yet to come). Tries his hardest to shine a new light on the Polish game-development scene. Gameplay Mechanix is his biggest passion project to date. Often listens to old episodes of The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson while writing. Privately a cat person.

Leave a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.
Fields marked with the symbol * are required.


Comments for this thread are now closed...